2019 Season Prize Winners

Posted by Pilar Kruger on Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Ocean Athletes    
Best Ocean Swimmer Certificate Zach Ebbett-Watt
Best Board Paddler Certificate Evan Broad
Best Beach Athlete Certificate Grace Akeripa
Best All Round Male Certificate Evan Broad
Best All Round Female Certificate Isla Prins
Most Improved on the beach Certificate Amy York
Most Improved on Board Certificate Harry Prins
Most Improved in the water Certificate Maggie Drain
Most Memorable Performance Certificate Isla Prins & Bella Drain for their outstanding board rescues
Perseverance Award Certificate Bella Drain
Sportsman Award Certificate Maddie Kerins for helping out a Westshore girl during Oceans Surf race
Team of Year Certificate Bella Drain and Isla Prins for their board rescue performance
Best Overall Athlete Certificate Grace Akeripa
Nipper Awards    
Highest Application to Surf Activies Certificate Kiera Te Hiko Pio
Most Improved Certificate Ella Sutton
Best on Board Certificate Sam Prins
Best on Beach Certificate Lucy Robinson
Best Ocean Swimmer Certificate Isabella Kerr
Rookie Awards    
Most Committed Certificate Lily Andrews
Best all Rounder Certificate Tessa Hollway
Most Improved Certificate Claudia Buntain
Great Attitude Certificate Danielle Payne
Patrol Captains Recognition Kieran Kruger, Jasper Marra, Mitch Jackson, Jacob Crawley, Meg Barclay, 
Maintaining Professional Leadership & Guidance   John Callinicos, Matt Mannington
50 Club Certificates Thomas Kay 57.5 hour, Meg Barclay 53 hours
50+ hours involving patrolling, callout & event guarding    
Top Rookie of the season Black Plastic Trophy Marshall Soanes 27.15 hours
Hours completed    
Maori Surf Lifeguard of the Year (donated by Apatu Whanau) Trophy Reece Akuhata 
Recognition of Maori Achievement in SLS    
Sid Faulkner Trophy Trophy Kate Boersen
Most Efficient Patrolman    
Pursuance of Excellence Certificate Thomas Kay, Joseph Avison, Brianna Harris, Frances Ebbett-Watt
Commitment to achieving higher awards (1st aid etc)   (intermediate Lifeguard School)
Top Surf Swimmer    
Male Trophy Joseph Avison
Female J Simmonds Cup & trophy Sarah-Kate Birkett
Top Beachies    
Male Trophy Wesley Akeripa
  Certificate Reece Akuhata
Female Trophy Jess Tucker
  Certificate Laura Johnson
Ludvigsen Cup  Cup Thomas Kay
Top Ironman/women    
Team Performance Certificates Beach - U19 Mens Relay Team
Top team performance   Water - U19 Mens Canoe Team
    Masters - SC Mens Canoe Team
Most Improved Certificate Beach -  Grayson Hesketh, Oliva Kirkpatrick        
    Water -  Frances Ebbett-Watt, Marshall Soanes
Summer Surf Trainer Certificate Luke Kay - Made nearly every training except when he was fixing gear so his friends could race & train!!!
Committed trainer for summer season    
HB Representative Challenge Team Members Recognition Luke Kay, Sarah-Kate Birkett, Joseph Avison, Wesley Akeripa, Jess Tucker
New Zealand Development squad Recognition Reece Akuhata
New Zealand Youth squad Recognition Wesley Akeripa
Ivan Wilson Memorial Cup Mitch Jackson
Best all-round lifeguard    
In it for life Black Plastic Trophy Helen Jackson
Overall dedication and commitment to SLS    
Overall dedication and commitment to Junior Surf Certificate Alison Prins
OBK Culture Award Black Plastic Trophy Dominique Rendal-Morris
Commitment to the culture and demands of OBK SLSC    
Clyde Jeffery Cup - Resuscitation Cup Jasper Marra
Outstanding Voluntary Service    
Koro Cup Trophy Harry Robinson
Overall commitment & dedication to Junior Surf    
Thank you for JS commitment   JD & Alison to thank Junior Surf Helpers
Thank you to our coaches   Andrew, Greg, Lenny, Farren & Jonty, Helen & Ben
Also thanks to head chefs at Nationals & HB Champs    Cathy & Jacob Crawley
Committee   Richard Wilson
    Bryan Faulknor
    Pilar Kruger
    Jonathan Doyle
    Adrian Barclay
    Sue Kay
    Shelley Morris
    Matt Mannington
    Jack Crasborn
    Emma Akeripa
    Alison Prins
Ultimate Sportsmanship Certificate Frances Ebbett-Watt - Being kind to her team mates most of the time !!
Kook of the Year Certificate Thomas Kay - breaking multiple pieces of equipment in quick succession
Milne of the Year Certificate Jonty Ebbett-Watt - for bringing an infection into the squad before the last round of HB champs
Most "injured" athlete    
Charger of the Year Certificate Big wave dave (Wesley) in the 1st part of the year, Brianna Harris for the 2nd half of the year
Most Impressive Milk Chug Certificate Marshall Soanes - put his heart on the line!
Body Surfer of the Year Certificate Senior Water training team!
« Previous Article Next Article »